December 1, 2023

Opposition to challenge constitutional amendments in SC


Staff Reporter – Islamabad:

The opposition on Wednesday formed a committee to challenge the constitutional amendments put forward by the incumbent government in the Supreme Court (SC).

The opposition parties’ strong objections to the government bills and amendments continue unabated, as even today, they oppose the bills in the parliament.

Moreover, the opposition has decided to challenge the constitutional amendments in the SC and has set up a committee, which includes PPP leaders Farooq Naik and Kamran Murtaza, and PML-N’s Ata Tarar.

The nerve-wracking contest in the parliament has begun with the NA Opposition Leader Shehbaz Sharif calling EVMs “evil and vicious machines.”

According to the data obtained from political parties, the ruling party and its allies have a total of 221 voters, including 179 MNAs and 42 senators.

The opposition, on the other hand, has a total of 219 members, including 162 MNAs and 57 senators.

Two members of the parliament from the ruling coalition, Faisal Sabzwari and Khalid Magsi, were unable to return to Pakistan in time, while PPP’s Syed Naveed Qamar from the opposition was diagnosed with dengue and not be able to attend the session.

Other opposition members, PPP MNA Nawab Yousuf Talpur and BNP’s Akhtar Jan Mengal could not reach the parliament, while Pashtun Tahaffuz Movement’s (PTM) leader Ali Wazir not participated due to the non-issuance of production orders.

The joint sitting take up 59 items, including roughly two dozen bills.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *