December 1, 2023

NA-133 by-poll results: PPP surprises with massive vote count


Web Desk- Lahore:

PPP Chairperson Bilawal Bhutto Zardari Monday claimed that his party will form the next government in Punjab after his party saw a tremendous surge in its vote bank during the NA-133 Lahore by-election.

Although, NA-133 is considered a citadel of PML-N, PPP’s candidate Chaudhry Aslam Gill secured 32,313 votes, almost six times higher as compared to the results of 2018 elections in the same constituency.

PPP’s Aslam Gill had bagged 5585 votes in the last general elections in Lahore’s NA-133. The PPP’s candidate secured 26,728 more votes as compared to the previous election in the constituency.

On the other side, PML-N’s vote bank in the constituency shrunk as its candidate, Pervaiz Malik, had bagged 89,699 votes in General Elections 2018.

In 2021, its candidate, however, won the by-election but Shaista Malik secured 42,888 fewer votes than the previous election.

PTI, on the other hand, has said that due to its absence from the contest, voters did not come out.

Speaking to the media Monday, CM Punjab Spokesperson Hassan Khawar said that the people have rejected the politics of corruption and refused to vote.

‘PPP to form next govt in Punjab’

In his message, PPP Chairperson Bilawal Bhutto Zardari congratulated his party workers and office-bearers over the success. He said that PPP secured more votes in the by-polls as compared to the last general elections.

The PPP leader said that the PML-N’s vote bank has reduced by 50% as compared to the previous elections. He claimed that his party will sweep in the next elections and will form government in Punjab too.

Taking to Twitter, Bilawal extended his congratulations to the PPP Punjab chapter for the “fantastic performance in Lahore by-election”. He maintained that PPP went from 5,000 votes to over 32,000 while PML-N lost more than 50% of its votes.

Bilawal said that PPP will form the government in Punjab and Centre.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *