(Web Desk/AFP) – India have defeated the defending champions Sri Lanka by 10 wickets in the final match of the Asia Cup 2023,  lifting the coveted trophy for the eighth time.

It only took India 6.1 overs to chase the measly target of 51 runs, without losing any wicket.

Owing to Muhammad Siraj six wickets, Sri Lanka team were all out for 50 runs.

India now required 51 runs to lift the Asia Cup 2023.

Sri Lanka lost six wickets in a quick manner as fifth batter was sent to the pavilion by Indian bowler Mohammed Siraj at merely 12 score.

It’s Siraj day today as the pacer shattered the Sri Lankan battling line up in hardly six overs. Sri Lanka is currently playing at 12 for six.

Earlier, the Sri Lanka won the toss against India and decided to bat first in the final of the Asia Cup 2023 championship on Sunday. The match is being played at the Premadasa Stadium, Colombo.

This is the second time in this mega event when these two sides are clashing. Earlier, both teams met each other during the Super 4 stage of the tournament with India winning a close contest by 41 runs.

Theekshana and Axar’s are not part of their teams leaving the fellow with a problem to solve in today big clash.

Led by Dasun Shanaka, Sri Lanka, are going to defend the Asia Cup champion title with the support of charged home crowd in a clash against India.

Sri Lanka outshined Pakistan by two wickets in the Super 4 stage making its way to the final. The home team made one change with all-rounder Dushan Hemantha coming in for injured Maheesh Theekshana.

Rain has dogged the tournament, a precursor to the ODI World Cup, and more is forecast on Sunday evening. Sri Lanka came in as underdogs but edged out Pakistan in their last Super Four encounter to book a meeting with India in the 50-over tournament final.

The island nation won the last Asia Cup, which was played in the T20 format.

Washington Sundar has replaced Axar Patel, who was injured in India’s loss to Bangladesh in an inconsequential Super Four match at the same venue.

Sundar, an off-spinner who bats left-handed, joined the team on Saturday. Big guns including Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah are back in the Indian team after being rested.

India, led by Rohit Sharma, are looking to extend their Asia Cup titles to eight in ODI and T20 formats. Monday has been kept aside as a reserve day in case of rain delays.

Teams Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (capt), Dunith Wellalage, Dushan Hemantha, Pramod Madushan, Matheesha Pathirana

India: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj