Mon. Jul 26th, 2021

Defending champs Magsi, Patel win 15th Cholistan Jeep Rally

BAHAWALPUR: Both Nadir Magsi and Tushna Patel, the defending champions, maintained their supremacy in their respective categories in the 15th Cholistan Jeep Rally by securing first positions in the annual event held at the Derawar Fort, some 70km from here on Sunday.

As per official results announced at the prize-distribution ceremony, seasoned racer Magsi covered the total 466kms distance in two rounds in four hours, 28 minutes and 50 seconds (4.28.50).

Earlier, Mr Magsi had also topped the rally’s prepaid category’s first round (220kms) held on Friday at the Derawar Fort.

Racers Asif Fazal and Faisal stood second and third, respectively, in the main prepaid category. Asif covered the distance in four hours, 37 minutes and 49 seconds (4.37.49) while Faisal it four hours, 39 minutes and 41 seconds (4.39.41).

Total 75 vehicles participated in the first round of the prepaid category on Friday. In the second round held on Sunday (prepaid category), 48 drivers participated in the contest and out of them, 28 returned to the finishing point.

In the women’s category, Ms Tushna Patel also defended her title by bagging the first position, while Ms Mahem Qureshi and Ms Salma Marwat followed her clinching second and third positions, respectively.

Ms Patel covered the distance in one hour, 37 minutes and four seconds (1.37.4), followed by Ms Qureshi (1.45.25) and Ms Marwat (1.52.36). The prizes were given away at a ceremony presided over by CM’s adviser on tourism Asif Mehmood, CM’s Inspection Team (CMIT) head Dr Raheel Ahmed Siddiqui and Commissioner Asif Iqbal Chaudhry.